Thursday May 9 Kanopy Class at Pinellas Library

I cannot make this free introductory class because of another commitment. Advance registration is expected at the website. Various participating libraries offer a course on an introduction to Kanopy every few months.

HERE is a link to the registration and details for the May 9, 2:30 course at Pinellas branch of Sumter Counter Library.

The next Kanopy meeting will probably be cancelled, because I have been informed by someone at Overdrive who says Kanopy Public Performance Rights films are not for just any clubs that don’t charge admission, such as churches or civic or social clubs, but for “Participating Schools and Libraries”, which contribute funds to Kanopy. The person I need to contact at Overdrive informed me of this when I asked Kanopy about the inclusion of a curated PPR row on the homepage of the site and its app. I believe the Overdrive person is not up to speed on why Kanopy bothered to offer PPR filtering of search results to all users, or to herald the offer of PPR films for after-school and other clubs to simple users/club organizers like me. In addition I went through hoops about a year ago to verify I could use Kanopy PPR to form a fee Kanopy club and determined the answer was yes. They certainly would have known I am not a school or library official.

Contacting Kanopy’s inquiries/Overdrive person may take several volleys and probably will not be possible in person over the phone. I want to verify the policy change and where it is published. For now I remain skeptical that the Overdrive person is correct, but it is a serious matter. Not so serious that the Overdrive person specified the Kanopy PPR policy was clarified anew, and the club now would be in violation of the PPR policy, but that I should not offer films with PPR in a club any longer if I am not with a patron library or patron school.

There is a chance this will be sorted out soon enough to not cancel the next meeting, which probably will offer the new musical, Anna Karenina.

Leave a comment

Comments (

0

)

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started